Family Reunions…

So last weekend I attended a family reunion at my aunt’s house in Powhatan. Now most people these days aren’t big into family reunions, but most people these days are not Poarch’s. And we loooove our family (well most of it anyway). My love for my family stems more with the Poarch side than with the Helms side, mainly because the Helms’ have not had much of a presence in my life (wait, who am I kidding, they’ve had no presence in my life) since I was about 8 years old. However, over the past 5 years or so, my Poarch’s have been overwhelmingly present. From the death of my grandmother, to birthdays, weddings, 4th of July’s, and everything in between, my Poarch’s have been there šŸ™‚ and for that I am eternally grateful.

Going into this family reunion, I was hesitant to say the least. There were members of my family that were going to be there with whom I have had no contact (and have no desire to have contact) with. However, my Poarch’s would be, and to me, that was all that mattered. Now, it’s July, and we live in Virginia, so holding a family reunion outside was not a good idea, yet here we were. It was hot, and muggy, and it stormed for most of the afternoon, but as long as I was with the family that counted, I was okay. I got to see the usual aunt’s and uncle’s (Billy and Mary were there, so was Uncle Ray and Gaynelle), my cousin’s were there (some are 2nd, 3rd, and 4th cousins, but to me there is no difference). I also got to see some of the babies of the family (okay there were only two, but they are the 2 cutest kids EVER!). The food was okay, I was sick, so I didn’t have much of an appetite to begin with, but all in all, it was a decent day.

Some of these pictures are not mine, I borrowed them from my cousin Kathy.

Image

This is my cousin DeAnne’s son Caden (the blond) and my cousin Meredithe’s son Declan (the red-head). technically Caden is my 2nd cousin and Declan is my 4th šŸ™‚
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

Image

This is Declan playing with a ball. He is honestly the cutest thing ever!
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

Image

Caden was absolutely fascinated with the fact that he could see himself on my phone (thank you reverse camera feature on the Droid!)
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

Image

This is my Aunt Gaynelle (my mom’s aunt), my cousin Kathy (my mom’s uncle’s daughter), and my cousin Johnny (Gaynelle’s son)
(Photo property of Kathy Poarch Niemcewicz)

Image

This is us enjoying some quality time bonding under the canopy during the massive storm. Note my cousin Darryl trying to dump water off the top so it wouldn’t cave in.
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

Image

That’s my Uncle Ray (my mom’s uncle) and my cousin Kathy.(Photo property of Kathy Poarch Niemcewicz)

Image

This is Caden showing me how he does flips. He’s just too adorable (and crazy).
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

Image

These are some of my cousin’s (my mother’s cousins technically) and one uncle. From left to right: Mary-Jo, Tommy, Kathy, Uncle Billy, and Johnny.
(Photo property of Kathy Poarch Niemcewicz)

Image

Caden sharing a snack with his new friend Declan šŸ™‚
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

Image

Caden and Declan enjoying a ride in the Radio Flyer (that I’m pretty sure is as old as I am)
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

Image

Kathy, Tommy, and Mary-Jo
(Photo property of Kathy Poarch Niemcewicz)

Image

Me prepared for the intense heat
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

Image

Caden and Declan again
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

Image

Four generations of Billy Poarch’s! That’s my Great Uncle Billy (sitting down), his son Sid/Herman/Little Billy standing behind him (my 2nd cousin), Sid’s daughter Meredithe Erin standing next to him (my 3rd cousin), and her son Declan laying in Uncle Billy’s arms šŸ™‚ I just loooove this shot!
(Photo property of Brittany Lankford)

2 thoughts on “Family Reunions…

  1. Pingback: Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes « amorousness8

  2. Pingback: I feel bad because I haven’t updated in forever… « amorousness8

Leave a Reply

