Back To School

so this past Friday was a teacher work day for us. We started off the morning with a 7am staff meeting, followed by 2.5 hours of work time on our rooms. Then we had a team-building and stress management workshop, which seemed rather ridiculous, although our group did come up with some very important things to work on within the building that are making us stressed. After that we were allowed to return to our classrooms to finish our decorating. Kari finished her and I’s room by 11:30 and Caitlin and I were done with the after-school room by 1:00. I think we all did a fantastic job πŸ™‚

ImageImageImage

we made six of these birds to hang from the ceiling in the after-school room. we were afraid of them hitting people in the head (they are poster-board size), but thankfully I was able to hang them close enough to the ceiling to not be a danger

ImageImage

this is Caitlin’s bright-spot, which I think turned out quite adorable! We had most of our after-schooler’s color these iguana’s and then we laminated them with a colorful backing. We were quite proud of how they turned out, except for Charlie’s, his was all scribble-scrabble

ImageImageImage

these snakes are made from paper plates that Caitlin and I painted green and then cut out. My mother and I added tongues and eyes the night before for a cute real-life touch. They hang above the stage area of the room.

ImageImage

this lemur hangs above the door and we are in-love with him. Caitlin did such a good job on all the animals, but he’s my favorite

ImageImage

the infamous birthday board (plus cubbies). Putting this board up was rather interesting and I nearly fell several times (despite Tracy’s warning not to sit up there, oops). But I am extremely proud of how it turned out. We used clear plastic packaging tape to tape the pieces together because they were curling on the ends, so that’s why it has a shiny effect

Image

the adorable cubby tags that Caitlin and I made. and then made more of. and then made more of…

Image

the new lego carpet!!! yay!!!

Image

view of the stage, Wii station, music center, and some cubbies

Image

view of the teacher cabinet, microwave, and bathroom

Image

bright-spot and the other bathroom

Image

the door to the classroom. I used stencils (of elephants and jaguars) and then Caitlin and I colored them in, laminated them, and then wrote the kids names on them. I’m quite proud of how the door turned out πŸ™‚

Image

this is Kari and I’s door. She did a fabulous job!

Image

our bright-spot πŸ™‚

Image

super cool jelly-fish that hang in our front window

Image

birthday board, cubbies, and computer center

Image

cubbies and center tags. all that’s missing are the kids pictures!

Leave a Reply

