Homemade Black Bean and Corn Salsa

So my dad is a salsa fiend, like I mean, he will legit sit down and eat an entire jar of salsa in one sitting. He also likes different kinds of salsa (pineapple and mango/black bean and corn/super spicy, etc.). This morning before leaving for work he asked my mom if she would pick him up some salsa at the grocery store, when asked what kind, he said something with beans and corn and a lot of vegetables. Now, if any of you are salsa buyers like we are, you know that finding salsa that contains all of the ingredients he wanted is both hard, and not easy on the wallet. Since we’re trying to save money, and make things homemade, I decided now was the perfect time to start! So I browsed the internet for ideas on what to put in my salsa and then just kind of made it up as I went along. I already some of the ingredients here and we picked up the others while at the store (for roughly the same cost of a jar of salsa). This is a completely original recipe that I came up with on my own and I hope that you guys enjoy it as much as we have 🙂

23354_10152455194565554_1429039097_n

Homemade Black Bean and Corn SalsaIngredients:

  • 1 can (15 oz.) Busch’s Black Beans (drained)
  • 1 can (14.5 oz.) Hunt’s Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 small can of corn (8.5 oz.)
  • 1 small tomato, diced
  • half of a green pepper (diced)
  • half of a red pepper (diced)
  • half of a small onion (diced)
  • seasoning of your choice (I used Mrs. Dash’s original blend, Mrs. Dash’s extra spicy blend, and some salt)

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and let sit in the fridge for about an hour.
  2. Serve with your favorite chips 🙂
Leave a Reply

